First day, first friend

Tell us about your first day at something — your first day of school, first day of work, first day living on your own, first day blogging, first day as a parent, whatever.

My first day at school I learned a very important lesson. Spaniards speak Spanish and that was something absolutely incomprehensible to me.  At home we spoke Croatian and I had no idea there were more languages in the world and that we were immigrants in Spain. I remember looking a tall nun speaking to my mom some strange words obviously about me and then looking at me and yelling something. I was so scared I only wanted to hide or escape but I couldn’t. I thought she was angry at me. Later a learned that some people think that if you talk lauder to somebody who doesn’t speak the language maybe would understand something. Mom was going to leave me there alone with that woman and all the kids speaking in a strange language I didn’t understand.

First thing we have to do was easy. Form a line to go to the classroom. The nun pointed to me where was my place. Then I decided to do what the girl next to me was doing since I didn’t understand what the teacher was saying. If the girl was drawing I began to draw  if she stopped and began to listen at the teacher I looked at the teacher as if I was listening at her intently.  We communicated with signs at first then she taught me words. When she didn’t come I was lost because I wasn’t sure what to do. We are still friends today.

Daily Prompt: First!.

11 thoughts on “First day, first friend

What do you think?

